Storage heaters question

All your electrical questions regarding electrics from within the United Kingdom

Moderator: Moderators

Ampmatt
Newly registered Member
Been thanked: 0

Storage heaters question

Post by Ampmatt »

Good afternoon . I'm new here hope someone can help.
I'm currently studying electronic engineering so I have a basic understanding of electrical laws.

I am trying to swap storage heaters from hallway to my bedroom.

The current one in my bedroom is a electric non storage dimplex heater .unkown model and power rating
(Doesn't have a storage brick in it )
It has a fused connection.

The one in the hallway is a dimplex storage heater with bricks in it. And I believe it's watts is 1.70kW
Dosnt have a fused wall connection .Image

My bedroom current one is useless , as doesn't store heat , sure it can heat up straight away but it's basically a large hairdryer !!

So I want to swap but I'm confused as to wether I need fuse or not .

Question 1)
Why is there a fuse for bedroom heater ?

Q2)
Can I put hallway storage heater in bedroom , just wire it through fused connection, even tho I believe it already has a internal fuse?
I have enclosed images.

EDIT - have checked fuse box there are two fuses labelled as storage heaters turned off both dint effect bedroom heater , so I believe bedroom one isn't on same circuit as hallway one. Which makes sense as it is a "instant" heat up , so wouldn't matter what tariff was on , as you can turn on anytime of day .
Last edited by Ampmatt on Thu Dec 01, 2016 1:54 pm, edited 4 times in total.
dewaltdisney

Re: Storage heaters question

Post by dewaltdisney »

I know little about electrics but as far as I am aware the storage heaters are on a separate (or should be) circuit so they can use the night time cheap tariff electric. So if you switch your storage rad to the bedroom it would have to be manually controlled to charge at night.

DWD
Ampmatt
Newly registered Member

Post by Ampmatt »