plumbing, drainage and waste water questions here please

Moderator: Moderators

HotPlumber
Newly registered Member
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Fernox TF1 or Magnaclean filter?

Post by HotPlumber »

I hope the following will be useful to someone who is looking at a central heating filter.

I have been installing Magnaclean filters for a few years now - a magnetic inline filter used to clean the c**p from heating systems and protect newly installed boilers from dirty old systems:
http://www.adeysolutions.co.uk.

Always game to try something new, Last week I purchased a new filter made by Fernox - The TF1:
http://www.fernox.com/?cccpage=Total_Filter_TF1&sub=11

My findings:

Installation:
Relatively easy to install. Found the valves awkward to get at to service the unit. Prefer Magnaclean setup.
Fernox claim more dirt capacity and easier servicing than Magnaclean. The system last week was a good test because it was really dirty. I removed the lid after an hour and the filter was full - any more and it would have blocked the flow. It had trapped quite a bit of sludge, but Magnaclean definitely holds more dirt, no question.

Servicing:
This is where it went pear shaped. Fernox say you can just remove the magnet from its tube and open the bottom drain valve and flush through. So with the sludge still attached I replaced the lid assembly (this is a pain as you have to line up 4 'lugs' with matching cavities and I found it hard to keep the o'ring seal in position) and flushed the unit as per instructions.

There are two glaring problems with TF1:

a. the black water sprayed everywhere! Spent a few minutes cleaning up.